Provincial Secretary for Social
Development, Hon. Margaret Birch
Minister of Industry and Tourism, Hon.
Claude Bennett
Minister of Energy, Hon. Dennis R.
Timbrell

Minister of Culture and Recreation, Hon. Robert S. Welch Chairman of the Cabinet and Minister without portfolio, Hon. René Brunelle Minister without portfolio, Hon. L.C. Henderson.

## Manitoba

3.3.1.7

In addition to a Lieutenant Governor, Manitoba has an Executive Council composed of 17 members and a Legislative Assembly of 57 members elected for a maximum term of five years. The Honourable Francis L. Jobin became Lieutenant Governor on March 15, 1976. In the general election June 28, 1973, 31 New Democrats, 21 Progressive Conservatives and five Liberals were elected to the 30th Legislature. After two by-elections in June 1975, the NDP held 31 seats, Progressive Conservatives 22, and Liberals three. One seat was vacant.

The Premier of the province is paid a salary of \$16,600 a year and each of the other members of the Cabinet \$15,600. Members of the Legislature are each paid a sessional indemnity of \$11,568 and a tax-free expense allowance of \$5,784 for the fiscal year ended March 31, 1977. Each member attending the session receives an additional allowance of \$900 for expenses incidental to the discharge of his duties as member. The Leader of the Opposition is paid \$15,600. The Speaker of the Legislative Assembly receives an additional indemnity of \$5,000 and expenses not exceeding \$1,000 in aggregate. The Deputy Speaker receives an additional indemnity of \$2,500 and expenses not exceeding \$500 in aggregate. Members required to live away from home receive a per diem allowance of \$25 from the opening of the session to prorogation excepting days during an adjournment of the Assembly for a period of four or more continuous days.

The Executive Council of Manitoba in January 1977

Premier, President of the Council, Minister responsible for the Manitoba Hydro Act, and Minister of Dominion-Provincial Relations, Hon, Edward Schreyer

Minister of Labour, Minister charged with the administration of the Civil Service Superannuation Act and the Public Servants Insurance Act, Hon. A.R. Paulley

Minister of Mines, Resources and Environmental Management and Minister responsible for the Manitoba Development Corporation Act, Hon. Sidney Green

Minister of Agriculture, Hon. Samuel Uskiw

Minister of Finance and Minister of Urban Affairs, Hon. Saul A. Miller

Minister of Consumer and Corporate
Affairs, Minister of Cooperative
Development and Minister responsible
for the Manitoba Telephone System and
Communications, Hon. René Toupin

Minister of Industry and Commerce and Minister responsible for the Manitoba Housing and Renewal Corporation, Hon. Leonard Evans

Minister of Highways and Minister responsible for the Manitoba Public Insurance Corporation, Hon. Peter Burtniak Attorney General, Keeper of the Great Seal and Minister responsible for the administration of the Liquor Control Act, Hon, Howard Pawley

Minister of Continuing Education, Minister of Manpower and Minister of Tourism, Recreation and Cultural Affairs, Hon. Ben Hanuschak

Minister of Public Works, Hon. Russell Doern

Minister of Health and Social Development and Minister responsible for Manitoba Lotteries Act, Hon. L.L. Desjardins

Minister of Northern Affairs, Hon. Ronald McBryde

Minister of Education and Chairman of Management Committee of Cabinet, Hon. lan Turnbull

Minister of Municipal Affairs and Minister responsible for the Civil Service Act, Hon. Billie Uruski

Minister responsible for Corrections and Rehabilitative Services, Hon. Joseph R. Boyce

Minister of Renewable Resources and Transportation Services, Hon. Harvey Bostrom.